Discussions

 View Only
  • 1.  Web Filtering Review

    Posted 25 days ago

    We are reviewing our web filtering provider since our current contract with Securly is ending this summer.  We are a 1:1 with MacBooks and iPads along with Windows and Macs on campus.  Parents use our guest network when on campus.  Securly has worked well but has had technical problems the last couple years with their SmartPAC which we push to our devices.  I reviewed GoGuardian but it didn't seem like a good fit so now I'm going to review Lightspeed and Linewize.  Any others you suggest to review?  Does anyone use LIghtspeed or Linewize and how well do they do at keeping their system working along with Technical support?

    I found this discussion from a couple years ago but figured a lot can change since then. https://community.theatlis.org/communities/community-home/digestviewer/viewthread?GroupId=1&MessageKey=93585a6f-cdbb-4f27-93b7-e7893bf152c1&CommunityKey=1079b5e4-b3bb-42f2-bd11-574da8f65b31&tab=digestviewer

    Thanks


    #General

    ------------------------------
    Keith Bolstein
    Lake Highland Preparatory School
    Orlando FL
    ------------------------------


  • 2.  RE: Web Filtering Review

    Posted 24 days ago

    Hello Keith,

    We have used Linewize for about 6 years now, I think.  It works pretty well as an on-campus filter, but we ran into way too many problems with their off-campus Apps to continue to use them.  We use a combination of Linewize for all on-campus filtering and Mosyle MDM for on-device DNS Internet filtering and device management.  I love Mosyle both as an MDM and DNS filter.  Their tech support is great, they are completely Mac Centric, and I can't recommend them enough.  Not only are all my devices filtered seamlessly wherever they might happen to be, including using a personal hotspot, Mosyle offers an App that parents can use to lock down their own children's iPads if they want more restrictive filtering or control than we enforce.  The nice thing about this as opposed to using Screentime on the iPads, is that personal filtering time is completely controlled by me.  This means that I set it so that during the time that the iPads are at School, they have the school level of filtering only and all parent modifications are automatically turned off when I don't want them to interfere.

    Please let me know if I can answer any questions for you.



    ------------------------------
    James Manikas
    Webb School of Knoxville
    Knoxville TN
    jjm@webbschool.org[
    ------------------------------



  • 3.  RE: Web Filtering Review

    Posted 23 days ago

    James, thanks for responding.  We have Mosyle but didn't know they had a DNS filter option. I see that now on the oneK12 plan.  I will start a trial of that and see how well it works.  



    ------------------------------
    Keith Bolstein
    Lake Highland Preparatory School
    Orlando FL
    ------------------------------



  • 4.  RE: Web Filtering Review

    Posted 22 days ago

    I'll second Mosyle as an MDM and security/content filter. Still learning the ins and outs but good so far. The OneK12 Plan is more expensive (but still less than we were paying with JAMF) but it's been worth it this year. We've turned all of our Apple logins to SSO with Google and it's been great.



    ------------------------------
    Heather Ramsey, Ed.D.
    Director of Educational Technology
    The Fletcher School
    Charlotte NC
    ------------------------------



  • 5.  RE: Web Filtering Review

    Posted 21 days ago

    Hi James,

    I'm currently collecting more information on Mosyle (and Jamf) as we are considering the idea of adopting one for managing our school's Apple/Mac devices. However, I have concerns that our environment consists of both BYOD and school provided devices. Students bring their own devices (mostly MacBooks) and we provide MacBooks that are purchased through our own Apple account to our Faculty. My main concerns are onboarding/offboarding the devices, whether they're BYOD or school provided, as well as the different steps to onboarding devices like our Apple TV's or iPads since they would need to be wiped prior to doing so. Do you use Mosyle with both school provided devices, as well as BYOD? If so, then are you able to provide any feedback on that experience? We appreciate any information or insight you have in general. 

    Thank you,

    John Halligan



    ------------------------------
    John Halligan
    Business Officer
    Stevenson School
    Pebble Beach CA
    ------------------------------



  • 6.  RE: Web Filtering Review

    Posted 21 days ago

    Hello,

    OK, so this can get convoluted, but here are the basics, mostly 
    Some brief background is that I have used JAMF for abo-ut 12 years and even got their technician certification.  We switched to Mosyle about two years ago due to price and functionality.  All that to say that I am pretty familiar with both products.  Here are some things to keep in mind. (Applies to Apple devices only because JAMF and Mosyle are Apple Only)
    1. The best and easiest way to manage a device with either MDM is to purchase the device directly from Apple and have it automatically set up in Apple School Manager at the time of purchase.  
    2. Getting a BOYD device into JAMF and Mosyle will work pretty much the same way for either system.  One really isn't going to be better than the other as far as setting up a non-school owned device for management.
    3. Unless the device is in Apple School Manager, then all one has to do is reset the device to factory defaults and they will be unmanaged.  There is no way to force that device back into management unless it is in Apple School Manager.
    4. You don't have to reset an Apple device to manage it unless you want to Supervise the device.  But, if the device isn't supervised, then you will loose some management options that only work on supervised devices.
    5. It is possible to get a device not purchase from Apple into Apple School Manager, and possible to get a non-school purchased device set up as supervised.  Both of these options involve using Apple Configurator 2 software and is very labor intensive.
    6.  If all you want to do is do basic management on a device like push out Apps, for example, then there are two relatively easy ways to do this without resetting the device.  One is bu going to a specific URL with a browser and following the prompts to log in to your JAMF or Mosyle servers and set up management.  You can also sent out enrollment invitations to each user and they can initiate the management.
    I am more than happy to talk with anyone that is interested in more detailed information on any of this if it would be helpful. I can always be reached at 865-291-3800.


    ------------------------------
    James Manikas
    Webb School of Knoxville
    Knoxville TN
    jjm@webbschool.org[
    ------------------------------



  • 7.  RE: Web Filtering Review

    Posted 21 days ago

    Any Mac or iPad can be managed without completely resetting the device.  The simplest way to do this is to enter the specific enrollment URL and logging in to your MDM to complete the enrollment.  That takes care of onboarding and has to be done manually with each device.  You can remove the management via a command sent out from the MDM, and does not require you to touch the devices.  Again, any user can remove the management pretty easily on their own as well.  However, if you want to have the devices supervised, then they do have to be wiped and reset.  Also, to get an Apple TV in you MDM, it has to be added to your Apple School Manager account if it isn't already, then the device does have to be reset and start in to the MDM.

    We do use Mosyle now for all our devices.  MacBook Air, iPad and Apple TV.  We do not allow students to bring their own devices so don't have to set those up for students.  

    Steps for adding a BYOD computer or iPad to your MDM:

    1. On the device, go to the enrollment URL
    2. Login in to your MDM server with an account that is authorized to enroll devices, and follow the prompts.
    3. That's it.  The device is now managed but not supervised.
    4. If you want the device supervised, It has to either be in Apple School Manager and pointing to the correct MDM, then reset, or you can use Apple Configurator to supervise the device or add it to your ASM account.  It will be reset in the process.

    To remove this device from management, you just send a command through your MDM and make sure that it has been at least unassigned in your ASM.

    Steps to manage an Apple TV:

    1. If it is already in your Apple School Manager account, then make sure the MDM server is selected for that device.
    2. If the Apple TV is not in your Apple School Manager account, use Apple Configurator 2 to add the device.
    3. Reset the Apple TV and if you have ASM and your MDM configured correctly, the Apple TV will start up managed and ready to go.

    To remove management from the Apple TV, make sure it is unassigned in ASM, then reset the Apple TV.



    ------------------------------
    James Manikas
    Webb School of Knoxville
    Knoxville TN
    jjm@webbschool.org[
    ------------------------------



  • 8.  RE: Web Filtering Review

    Posted 18 days ago

    I looked at a demo of Jamf safe internet. It looks like a solid filter that would work on or off campus and less money than Securly/GoGuardian. They take a privacy focused approach and it is strictly a filter with notifications of potentially dangerous behaviour and no ability to look up student web history. I don't believe you need other Jamf products to use this, but I'm not 100% on that. We ended up sticking with Securly as it has the reporting tools.



    ------------------------------
    Scott Davis
    Edu-Tech Academic Solutions
    ------------------------------