Discussions

View Only
  • 1.  E-Rate

Posted 03-18-2022 10:02 AM
    I was wondering if anyone in the United States takes advantage of E-Rate at their schools. I recently discovered that our ISP Comcast is charging us significantly more per month because we are not using E-Rate.

I came from a school that used E-Rate and know all the advantages of the program, however that school was a 100% Free and Reduced Lunch program school vs. my current school which will likely be 1-10% eligible.

Thanks,

Chris

#General

------------------------------
    Chris Wozniak
    Director of Technology and Information Systems
    AWTY INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL

• 2.  RE: E-Rate

Posted 03-18-2022 10:19 AM
    I'm new to the Tech Director role and just completed my first fiscal year of eRate. We have a low percentage of families that qualify as low income, but we still received 50% off Category 1 and 2 services. I was told by another Tech Director to use a consultant to make sure it's done correctly. We pay the consultant a fee + percentage of the awarded funds and it was worth every penny. I wear a lot of hats, and there's no way I could have done the filing myself. We used eRate Program LLC, and my first year was very successful! You can email me at bemge@millsprings.org if you have more specific questions.

Brittany Emge
    Mill Springs Academy

• 3.  RE: E-Rate

Posted 04-06-2022 09:38 AM
    Thank you for your repsonses!

Chris Wozniak
    Director of Technology and Information Systems
    AWTY INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL

• 4.  RE: E-Rate

Posted 03-21-2022 09:53 AM
    Hi Chris,
    Our school has low eligibility but we provide financial assistance to students.  They look at private schools a little different. We have to provide information regarding the financial assistance and we have been able to receive 40% off.  Again, not sure of the rules  but I know the lowest a school can get is 20%.  It is worth looking into.